Select Your Destination

< Feature Stories >

A warm, safe, and caring environment for the homeless

Dr. Seuss-themed family fun night supports The Empty Bowls Project

Reports, motions and a number of area citizens heard

The Eaton Calendar - Mar 11

Speaking Well in Wellsboro

How does your mother's brain work?

Rep. Owlett hosts welcoming event for Nelson & Smith

Hornets fall to Loyalsock in D4 title game

What is your purpose in life?

How can we strengthen our body's most critical muscle?

Hydrating - Being Well This Winter

Behind the scenes of Matthews Motor Company's new project!

Joseph R. Every Scholarship

Asa's story inspires a family to change lives, one child at a time!


Liberty Wrestling falls to Athens

Mounties score three victories but fall to Athens, 55-12


by Ed Weaver - January 18, 2019

North Penn-Liberty hosted the Athens Wildcats in NTL wrestling action on Thursday, January 17.

Athens won the match 55-12, keeping them undefeated in the league standings.

Athens’ Zach Stafursky won an 8-0 major decision over Mitchael Time at 152 lbs, then Alex West and Cameron Whitmarsh recorded forfeits at 160 and 170 lbs. The Wildcats’ Davd Galasso scored a 5-1 decision against Cameron Andrews at 182 and Dylan Comstock won a 4-0 decision over Brett Harvey at 195, giving the Wildcats a 22-0 lead.

At 220, the Mounties’ Roch Minnich scored a 5-0 decision over Ben Pernaselli then John Minnich matched that result with a 5-0 decision at 285 against Keegan Braund.

The Wildcats’ Kaden Setzer pinned Roger Learn in 4:40 at 106 lbs, Gavin Bradley scored a 3:55 pin over Coy Wagner at 113 lbs, then Patriot June scored the Mounties’ final win of the night with a pin over Gavin McGrath in 1:03 at 120 lbs.

The Wildcats’ Later Rude and Lucas Forbes recorded forfeits at 126, 132, and 145 lbs, then Troy Jennings closed out the match with a 7-6 decision over Gavin Sexauer at 138.

The loss drops the Mounties to 4-13 overall and 3-4 in the league.


Idea/Concept: Ed Weaver

Videography: Ethan Chabala

Video Editing: Ethan Chabala

Writing: Ed Weaver

Anchor: Ed Weaver


Produced by Vogt Media

Funded by Matthews Motor Company

< Current Stories >


See More Current Stories


Mounties score three victories but fall to Athens, 55-12

January 18, 2019


Tioga County Sports Hall of Fame inducts 14 new members

April 3, 2018


Harsch, Tombs, Manney, and Manney headline Class of 2018

March 22, 2018


Mounties nearly swept rival Wellsboro on the wrestling mats

December 20, 2017


Brown takes sole win with a pin during Tuesday match

December 13, 2017


13 new inductees added to the Tioga County Sports Hall of Fame

March 27, 2017


Wellsboro High School holds annual Athletic Awards Ceremony

May 24, 2016


Wellsboro Wrestling team defeats Sayre on Senior night

January 25, 2016


Rams win every match for 76-0 victory

December 23, 2015


The young Wellsboro Hornets prepare for the upcoming season

December 16, 2015


Wellsboro faces North Penn-Liberty in NTL Wrestling match

January 9, 2015


Load More Stories